Make your own free website on

'A' Company

Formed by Lt-Col. A.W. Malet, MVO in May 1940. Major F.H. Parry was 2 i/c. Company HQ was at Southfields, Bishops Cleeve.
In Jan. 1941 'E' Coy. was formed and took over the Tewksebury area from 'A' Coy. In March 1942 'F' Coy. was formed and took over the Bishop's Cleeve area from 'A' Coy. In April 1942 Prestbury Platoon was moved from 'A' Coy. to 'B' Coy.
August 1942 No. 10 Platoon was formed at the Forestry Camp, on Sudeley Hill. The camp was dispersed in 1943 and the men moved to No. 11 (Winchcombe) Platoon, which was renumbered 10/11 Platoon.

Sept. 1942 Coy. HQ moved to Postlip House, Winchcombe. In August 1944 'A' Coy. took part in a search for a crashed RAF plane near Charlton Abbotts.

'B' Company

Formed in May 1940 at Vestry Hall, Charlton Kings, commanded by Major C.A. Bamford. Major J. Haddon was 2 i/c. HQ was at Holy Apostle Vestry. The Leckhampton Platoon was commanded by G.L. Heawood, the Charlton King's Platoon by G.W. Enoch, the Holy Apostles Platoon by G.C. Downer, and the Prestbury Platoon by W.S. Mackie.

'C' Company

Formed as No. 4 (South) Cheltenham Platoon, 'E' Company. Major R.P.G. Begbie, DSO, MC was first commander. Company HQ was at Bristol Tramways in Spa Road. Company consisted of HQ, Christ Church, Naunton, Montpellier, Leckhampton, Cambray, Tivoli, Shurdington, St. Mark's, Hatherley Park, and Lansdown Sections. In June 1940 Naunton, Montpellier, Cambray, and Lansdown were moved to other companies and replaced by Cheltenham College and Dean Close School Sections.

'E' Company

Formed Jan. 1941. Coy. CO was Capt. Philipson-Stow, Lt. Comins as 2 i/c.
Platoons - Tewkesbury (including Forthampton and Chaceley) under Lt. A.E. Berry
Coombe Hill under Lt. S. Bass
Twyning under Lt. B. Fletcher

'F' Company

Formed Feb. 1942 as a mobile striking force in connection with Stoke Orchard airport. HQ was at Wingmoor Farm near the airfield. The Coy was made up of Coombe Hill Platoon (detached from "E" Coy.); Bishops Cleeve and Gotherington Platoons (from "A" Coy). Another Platoon was raised from civilians working at the airfield. Stoke Orchard became a Glider Training Station.

'G' 73 Platoon

Formed May 1942 as a mobile (Montpellier) Platoon of 'C' Coy. Nicknamed "Dagger Platoon". Commanded by Lt. Starforth. Formed from volunteers, all younger fit men. Became Mobile Company "G" in December 1942.

'H' Company

Formed at S. Smith and Sons aircraft instrument factory at Bishops Cleeve, responsible for the security of the factory. Equipped with 8 Marlin MG's and 2 Lewis LMG's for AA defence of the factory. Later 2 20mm Hispano Guns were added.

'K' Company

Formed May 1940, at Dowty Works Factory, responsible for the security of the factory. Also supplied Cheltenham's Bomb Disposal Squads and successfully removed an unexploded 500lb bomb from the Ritz Cinema.

'L' (Civil Defence) Company

Formed 6th December 1942 from volunteers with the Civil Defence Services. Many members wore navy blue civil defence uniforms with Home Guard flashes and stripes sewn on.

Great Western Railway Platoon

27th May 1940 Sir James Milne, KCVO, General Manager of the Great Western Railway, called for men to protect the railways. In Cheltenham, 36 GWR men signed up and were commanded by Mr T.K. Folley (late CSM 5th Glosters). 2 i/c was sergt. J.C. Wheeler. In April 1941 Folley rejoined the 5th Glosters and command was assumed by Section Leader E.R. Jackson. The HQ was in the First Class Waiting Room at Malvern Road. In June 1942 Sergt. E. Hilton was wounded in the face by a smoke bomb fired from a tank during an exercise. A final parade of GWR men was held at Weston-Super-Mare when 5 Railway divisions paraded together.

L.M.S. Platoon

The L.M.S. Platoon was commanded by Sergt. Brown. No account survives of their activities.

Cheltenham College Platoon

Four officers and 271 other ranks served in the Home Guard during the War. Many went on to join the Services and 9 were killed. The College Platoon formed a mobile reserve and the College Band turned out for Home Guard ceremonial parades.

Dean Close School Platoon

Formed in June 1940, consisted of 28 boys (aged over 16 and half years), 2 officers (Capt. J.S. Moore and Capt. E.S. Hoare) and the Headmaster of the School. The RSM was A.W. Golder (PSI of the School Junior Training Corps). Formed the Battalion's Tactical Reserve. In Sept. 1940 Capt. Moore joined the Army.

St. Paul's College Platoon

Formed in November 1940. Capt. R.A. Riley (officer commanding), Lieut. J.M. Salmon (2 i/c), CQMS J. Trueman.